True or False? try this New Jersey Medicaid Quiz

Test your knowledge about nursing homes and the Medicaid-MLTSS program that pays for nursing home care, assisted living and part-time home care.

  1. Does a person’s monthly income have to be less than $2,313 (2,349 in 2020) to apply for Medicaid-MLTSS?
  2. Will the State take one-half the house if a married person moves into a nursing home?
  3. Does a married person have to sign over or pay one-half  of the couple’s assets when the ill spouse moves into the nursing home, before applying for Medicaid-MLTSS?
  4. Does a nursing home resident have to allow a nursing home to auto-debit his bank account every month?
  5. Does a nursing home resident have to hire the Medicaid application compiler who is recommended by the nursing home business office?
  6. Is $15,000 per year an excluded gift under the Medicaid-MLTSS transfer penalty rules?
  7. Is it illegal for a nursing home resident to use his money to make gifts to family members or set up trusts for family members, if he is paying for his care?
  8. If a Medicaid-MLTSS applicant transfers his house to his disabled child, will he be denied Medicaid benefits?
  9. Does the State put a lien on the house while a NJ Medicaid-MLTSS recipient is alive if all benefits are properly received?
  10.  Is there an upper limit on the income that the community spouse of a NJ Medicaid -MLTSS recipient can have in New Jersey?

The answer to all these questions is No!  However, myths abound, and people may be surprised to learn how they can actually protect assets in these situations.

For more information about the requirements of the MLTSS program and how to work with them for your benefit, about how you or your loved one can become eligible for Medicaid or protect your assets if nursing home care is needed, call us at ……. 732-382-6070